Mahwah's Powerlifting Log

So I’ve decided to give this log thing a try.

A little background on myself, I have been lifting weights since 1995 with different priorities along the way. I began training as a powerlifter at the beginning of '08. I lift raw in the SPF, 181 class. I have four meets under my belt with my best lifts going 465/345/570 for a 1380.

When I began I used some of the Westside principles and had a lot of help from the owner of my gym, who has been competing for over 17 years. Since then I have used Coan/Phillippi a few times and have put 80 pounds on my DL with it.

I will be starting Smolov on the 1st of June, which is the reason I have decided to start this log. The goal is to get my squat up and over the 500# mark.

Right now, my next planned meet is Oct 31. And I want an elite total.

5/28/09

First day back lifting since the meet. Low back is still tight, but I guess that’s what happens when you’re stuck in a car for 7 hours after lifting a bunch of weight…

1a. Squat
135, 225, 275, 315, 345, 370 x 5

1b. Incline Bench
135, 155, 175, 195 x 8 x 3

1c. Pullups (wide)
BW x 8 x 6

I mainly wanted to get the feel of the weight on my back and get a set of 80%x5 for the squats. I’ll be taking tomorrow off and getting a little something done on Sat before the beginning of hell on Monday.

Oh, yeah, I use that crazy reverse Russian way of writing reps and sets.
Weight x Reps x Sets

YES!

I’ll be following.

Very cool, good to see another Coan veteran on the board.

Are you starting Smolov on Monday? I hear that does good things for your Squat.

And if so, are you doing the Intro Cycle?

Yessir, I am starting Monday. If I get half the progress you made, I will be a very happy camper.

I am not doing the intro. I had originally only planned on doing Jr, but figured if I’m gonna do it, I might as well do it all the way. I feel like I am ready condition-wise, we’ll soon see.