T Nation

Magnesium RBC. Am I Deficient?

My magnesium serum is 2.09 mg/dL (1.5 - 2.3) but my magnesium RBC is 4.33 mg/dL (4 - 6.4) which is quite low.

I have been supplementing magnesium glycinate for 5 months (400mg before bed).

Some questions ;
1)Why is my Mag. RBC low despite supplementing 400mg daily? Does TRT have anything to do with magnesium RBC depletion?
2)What should i be worried about with low Mag. RBC values? Am i in danger?
3)What can i do to increase it?

Mag RBC is the most accurate magnesium test. FOr zinc the same. Forget about zinc and magnesium serum tests without RBC.

TRT increases magnesium consumption so you need to supplement more. Maybe 600-800mg for you will be good. The magnesium kind you supplement is the best provided the brand is of a good quaility.

Thanks.
I will double my dosage to 800mg then.
I have MTHFR… wonder if that’s got anything to do with absorbing magnesium.

Anything else other than zinc and magnesium that is worthless to check as serum? How about copper?

You can check sodium, potassium, B12, copper as well

What would your mg levels would be with no supplements?

There are causes for low mg. You can check if they apply.

Sodium and potassium are included in a complete metabolic panel.

I would check vit b12 and folate.

One being TRT depletes some portion of magnesium i believe?
What are some of the other causes? My Vitamin B12 (cobalamin) is 789.1 pg/mL 197 - 771 but this is not what we are looking for huh? Is there such thing as RBC B12 test or folate RBC?

I have these checked also and they are in range but i guess we are talking RBC versions for these too?

No rbc version. Regular vb12 and folate. If you are low in these than you can dx better. These are main nutrients that should be in range if u are eating ok. If they are not, further investigation is warranted or u need to check any special diet you are on.