Madcow - Intermidiate or Advance?

Hey everyone,

I’m looking to start the Madcow 5x5 after doing about 2 months of higher volume work. My question is whether to start with the intermediate or Advance program. I’ve been lifting for sometime (5 years) so I think my body has adapted to the point where I would need an advanced progression.

Then again I have not done this type of training in a long time so perhaps Intermediate program would work. Any input about which variation to do/how you liked the program would be much appreciated.

I didn’t like it. It was great for deadlift and ok for squat. But I the lost gains I made on squat during spring ball. I needed more assistance work for weaker areas and needed some days to do speed work, which this program really didn’t allow.

Do the program if you want to get your squat up fast.

The program is great for foundation strength. It will help if you decide to carry over to a powerlifting style. But I would use the intermediate until you hit a plateau and stop hitting PRs.

Thanks for the input guys.

I’ve been leaning more and more towards powerlifting/pure strength emphasis. Right now I feel I’m not strong enough and have shifted my focus on getting stronger and then after Ive reached a good strength level, perhaps working more on higher rep IE “pure” hypertrophy training. But right now my focus is getting stronger, plain and simple.

If you’re not sure, do the intermediate. I wasn’t sure either and went with the intermediate and did well with it. At the same time, I had never followed a structured program in my life. I often just lifted what I felt like, so it was kind of nice change and less thinking.