Macro Nutrient Percentages

Firstly I just wanted to say hello to everyone. Been lurking for a while. Tons of great info here. Was wondering about the macro nutrient % and what seems to be the consensus for the lifter that wants to keep current lean muscle (adding would be even better) while lowering body fat %. I eat relatively clean and have been using fitday.com as a tool to watch my caloric intake, expenditures, and any deficits. I have been consistently around 26-30% fat (mostly good fats), 39-42% carbs, and 32-35% protein. Just curious as to what has worked well for others.

My goal here is to get to about 9-10% body fat while gaining a few pounds of lean muscle along the way. I know this almost sounds like an oxy-moron but I think I can do it with a little guidance. If I have left out any pertinent info. just ask

i also want to gain some muscle w/o too much fat.

i’ve been experimenting with carb cycling for a couple months now. honestly it hasn’t worked so well thus far. i put on 5lbs real quick, and then not so much. probably because i’m just not eating enough.

until this week it’s been mostly 3g carb per lb bw on high days, 1.5g/lb on med days and 1.1g/lb on low days. then ~1.5g/lb protein. this does not seem to be enough food for me.

my idea now is to set a cal/day goal using the same carb/prot ratios and just make up the cal difference with good fats. gonna try sticking with a calorie/day goal for a week and then adjust up from there if i haven’t gained anything.

fat/carb/prot percentages are 19/54/27 on high days to 55/18/27 on low days. we’ll see if it works.

fitday is great btw.

I actually change my breakdown on various days of the week. Some days, I have a higher carb intake, and other days, when I try to keep carbs a little lower, obviously you need to up your intake of healthy fats. Some people can handle a higher percentage of fat vs carbs, and some people can’t.

S

[quote]The Mighty Stu wrote: