Machines Only Training?

Does anyone see any issues with sticking to a mostly machine split when the goal is purely muscle/aesthetics? Any truth to this whole stabilizers muscles stuff?

I have noticed that when I stick to mostly machines I tend to make the same muscle gains but, feel/recover better.

If you are making the same muscle gains, why would you need other people’s opinion on whether or not it works?

3 Likes

truth, yes. Significance? Not necessarily.

Currently all my chest work is done on machines (incline Smith, flat machine press, pec deck) and everything’s growing just fine.

However I only started training this way because my shoulder was busted and I wanted to experience the novelty of a pain free workout.

In normal circumstances I wouldn’t rely entirely on machines purely for the sake of different implements providing slightly a slightly different stimulus, but I don’t think you’ll miss out on any growth from just training on machines provided you attack them with sufficient intensity.

1 Like

As a short-term approach spread out once to several times per year, I don’t necessarily have a problem with it.

As a long term approach - it’s complete and utter shit.

And I challenge the machine-only gimps in this thread to show me otherwise.

You are correct to question this method and bounce ideas off other lifters here.

Here is what I predict will happen should you stay with this method indefinitely:

1. You’ll become progressively worse at performing free weight movements. Every single session, I am consciously trying to improve my technique. Mastery takes time, patience, and FOCUSED practice.

Wait, you say you primarily care about “muscle/aesthetics”? Fair enough. But there will come a time when your gains stall on a machines-alone approach. Then you have to return to the fundamentals which are…you guessed it, free weights and body weights.