Lunges Worth It??

Have you included lunges(any form) in your program? Is it worth it? Which vesion? What are the main benefits of this excercise?
I perform dumbell lunges one leg at a time without going at the starting position after finishing each rep. I use dumbells instead of a barbell because it’s easier to dump them if u wanna go to failure, which i do sometimes.

Anyhow, here’s a vid of me performing the lunges,

Any comments on my form etc appreciated. Any advice is welcome.

There was an article on lunges a few weeks ago.

http://www.T-Nation.com/readTopic.do?id=1450802

How could you have missed it?

IMO, and for what it’s worth, I don’t think your form is very good.
Your upper body should be more upright.
Also, your stride is to long. You put your leg to far back. The knee in your back leg should be closer to 90?, about the same as the angle in your front leg.

I recommend to reduce the weight and concentrate on form.

But hey, I’m no lunging expert.

[quote]guaglione wrote:
Have you included lunges(any form) in your program? Is it worth it? Which vesion? What are the main benefits of this excercise?
I perform dumbell lunges one leg at a time without going at the starting position after finishing each rep. I use dumbells instead of a barbell because it’s easier to dump them if u wanna go to failure, which i do sometimes.

Anyhow, here’s a vid of me performing the lunges,- YouTube. Any comments on my form etc appreciated. Any advice is welcome.[/quote]

Lunges are definitely worth including in your program, I feel that it has helped my Squats and Deadlifts. I use a barbell and I’m up to about 230lbs, I only found that the exercise started to do anything for me once I went heavy.