T Nation

Lowish SHBG, High Free T, Low to Mid Range E2

Hi all, I’ve been battling the right protocol for a couple years now. Some quick info:

38 years old
Pre TRT: 200TT
SHBG: 23

I’ve tried man different protocols.
Test CYP 140mg 1 x Per week: TT ranged from 1500+ a few days after my shot and 400 at trough. I have never needed an AI. Even at the 1500 TT range my E2 was around 30. At 400 it was around 15.

So I switched to sub q 40MG EOD and I’ve been doing this for about a year.
Labs:
24 hours after shot:
TT: 990 (264 - 916)
FT: 47 (5 - 21)
E2: 33 (8 - 35)

At trough
TT: 684 (264 - 916)
FT: 17 (5 - 21)
E2: 23 (8 - 35)

So you can see even with EOD - I’m getting wide swings. My dose might be too high as my Free T sky rockets but not as much conversion to E2.

Should I just jack up my dose and go ED or would I be better at a lower dose potentially everyday? My only problem is at lower doses (100mg per week) my e2 would drop to around 11 or 12 and I’d have terrible E2 symptoms.

I’m also thinking about maybe doing androgel. I know everyone on here seems to think it’s terrible but willing to try anything.

Thanks for any advice you might have.

Where do you feel good? 24 hours after shot or at trough or somewhere in between?

Your options are pretty clear… daily administration through one form or another. Cream or injections.

Forget about Gel. If you want something topical, get some of the 20% cream from Empower. Gel isn’t strong enough for almost everyone.

If you want to stick with injections then I’d keep the same weekly dose, just administer daily.

I’d try daily injections first and see how that goes since you’re already using that method, just less frequently.

1 Like

Your swings will be even more wild on androgel, you’ll never be able to keep levels elevated. You’re metabolising T very quickly and should be injecting daily, your SHBG is going to be lower on TRT, it’s probably <10.