T Nation

Lowing fat while gaining muscle

I’m currently attempting to lose fat while gaining muscle without using any supplements other than ZMA and protien shakes. Any hints? I’m a college student, so anything basic would help. I lift all the time and do some cardio, but I’m worried that I’m not eating enough carbs (cutting carbs to lose the fat) for muscle growth. How many carbs should I eat? When? Should I even be trying to cut carbs? I’m currently at 245 and would like to stay that weight but lose body fat. Any hints?

Tank, what you are attempting to do by losing fat and gaining mass is a very hard journey. Unless you are New to training. Those goals counter one another in the way they need to be approached.

To get massive gains in a short time you must EAT massive amounts of food. To lose bf% you need to go in a calorie deficit.

It can be done to a certain amount though. Usually leading to slower gains in each area. I would suggest looking into a cycle type of diet where you are taking in a hyper caloric diet on a few of the training days and then hypocaloric, limit carbs, and up cardio on other days.

I am in the middle of testing this type of diet for the first run with what seem to be good results so far. I am only two weeks though.

You might check out the “cheaters diet” for some info… You are going to have to build something to fit you though in the long run, a lot of testing and experimentation.

If you dont have a lot of time to tweek with things and possibly not get the results you are looking for, then I would suggest just sticking with the old reliable. Cut some fat and preserve as much LBM as possible, then eat big and grow LARGE.

Phill

Yes, the Cheater’s Diet should do the job for you, but it requires/recommends the use of an androgen/PH to protect LBM because the strict days are exceedingly strict.