T Nation

Lower/Push/Pull 5 Days a Week

Hello, i’m soon going out of a cut and are looking for a new way of splitting my body up and one split that caught my eye is the strenght/hypertrophy Lower/push/pull 5 days a week because it would allow me to work each muscle with a little more volume then the typical upper/lower and legs/back/biceps - Chest/delts/triceps 4 days a week that i’m used to.

I have been working out for a little over 4 years (natural) and i’m 25 years old and my work is not stressing my body in any way so when it comes to recovery i think i’ll be fine.
Here is the routine and the way i thought i’ll approach it if i choose to try it for 4-5 months.

I would try RPT (reverse pyramid training) and for you who dont know what that is google RPT Randy Herring, he has an article on BB.com about it.

The way it works is that the first set will be the heaviest one and the one i will always try to progress in so lets take squat as an example, i will start with a weight i exactly can handle 4 reps with and when i with time can do 6 reps with that weight i’ll start over.

After the first set i’ll lower the weight with 10-15% and do the other reps i’ve listed.

Day 1 - Lower body
Day 2 - Push + calves/rotator cuffs
Day 3
Day 4 - Pull
Day 5
Day 6 - Repeat

Lower body

Squat set 1 4-6 set 2 6-8 set 3 8-10 (RPT)
SLDL set 1 6-8 set 2 8-10 set 3 10-12 (RPT)
Leg press or leg extansion 4 x 8-12
Leg curl 3 x 8-12
Hyperextensions 2 x 8-12
Abs - crunch machine 3 x 6-8 + captain’s chair 3 x 8-12

Push

Bench set 1 4-6 set 2 6-8 set 3 8-10 (RPT)
OH press set 1 6-8 set 2 8-10 set 3 10-12 (RPT)
Incline DB press 3 x 8-12
Chest dips or DB flyes 2 x 8-12
Rope pushdowns 4 x 8-12
Cable lateral raise 3 x 8-12
Some calf work and rotator cuffs

Pull

Pullups set 1 4-6 set 2 6-8 set 3 8-10 (RPT)
DB row set 1 6-8 set 2 8-10 set 3 10-12 (RPT)
BB row or close grip pulldown 3 x 8-12
Rear delt fly 3 x 8-12
DB Shrugs 2-3 x 8-12