T Nation

Lower Chest Fat, Body Fat %, and Supplements

Hi Gents, first post here but I have been coming to these forums and this site for a good 5 yrs now. Now before someone tells me to use the search button, I can assure you that I have done so and found some useful info which I'll add into this post. I'm 33 yrs old, 6 feet tall, 195 and very active (weight training, hockey, martial arts).

I have (and have always had) excess chest fat in the lower chest. I incline pressed for years with little change. I am actually noticing that the way my chest is built, I can see upper pec development, it is just that I have a rather broad chest and shoulders with a lot of the muscle concentrated in the lower half. It is rock hard when i flex it and I can barely pinch anything. However when relaxed, there is just that bit of shape there that bugs the $hit out of me.

program - I circuit train with relatively heavy weight: squat, chins, presses, clean and press, dips,barbell hacksquats etc. I get fast intense workouts that drive my heart rate up. Also use elastics for concentration work. (rear delts etc..)

supplements- Having read that this might be a sign of zinc deficiency, I am starting ZMA. Cruciferous vegetables I understand help the blocking of bad estrogens so I am back on to veggie greens (8 servings of cruciferous veggies in a scoop). Multi vitamin - check.

Diet- Trying to cut the starchy carbs. Eat more brown rice over potatoes(lower GI), avocado, olive oil, greens with meals. I eat a lot of pork and chicken as i am not as much a beef guy. I do admit that I eat pasta once or twice a week (lunch or dinner) and eat a good sized meal at folk's place once a week but generally speaking i find i eat reasonable portions and am rarely stuffed. I currently do not take any protein shakes.