Lower back position during deadlifts

I have been lifting over a year, but I am just learning the conventional deadlift. I’ve read King’s articles (and watched his video on the deadlift which is very good) but I had a question about lower back position. I had someone who has (at least some) training by Paul Chek watch me doing deadlifts and she said that just as it is important to keep the upper back straight during the deadlift, it is equally important to keep the normal lower back curve (lumbar lordosis) during the deadlift. This means rather then keeping the lower back straight, you stick your ass out and up (kinda–this is hard to describe). This does make some sense: just as keeping the upper back straight avoids concentrating the forces on the front/anterior portions of the vertebral bodies/vertebral disks, maintaining the normal lumbar lordosis does the same thing for the lower spine. Comments anyone?

Ok, let’s not make this overly complicated. Keep your lower back arched during the lift…it’s the #1 rule of the deadlift.

Yes, Paul Chek indeed has stated that to “maintain a lordosis in the initiation of the descent.” - and "lordosis"means like, a forward curvature of the spine. He recommends that the exerciser bends forward at the hip, like when you perform a Good Morning.

However, Ian King, Paul Chek and Dave Tate all are different in their descriptions of the dead. We have been been performing in accordance to Dave Tate's methods. I will be experimenting these next few weeks with Ian King's methods. But, as has been explained before, Tate's methods are with strength in mind and since we wanted to improve our dead poundages, that's the route we took.

I took part in a Paul Chek seminar, and what you say is pretty much one of Chek's mantra's during the seminar. I even have his "Scientific Back Training" book and videos. Yeah, yeah, some of you guys are probably rolling your eyes at that, but get this: it's pretty informative stuff.