Lower Back Pain + Hamstrings Weakness

Hi everyone,

So here is a short history of my issue: never really trained hamstrings properly / constantly (apart from the usual leg curl machine every now and then), and this was on top of the fact that I do not train legs constantly - however, somehow I’ve got massive legs - which I reckon is because of all the cycling. Additionally, never really trained abs / core, apart from the training I got from playing football, tennis and lifting weights. I have been lifting weights for about 4 years and I am now 22 years old.

My lower back injury happened this year in March - I was doing stiff leg deadlifts and I think at the 5th rep, I felt something being sort of displaced in my lower back and had to stop. I have had issues with my lower back ever since - sometimes I get tingling in my leg (a few times a week), more often I get pain in that area or radiating from there. However, I would say it is manageable. I don’t know what the exact diagnosis is but it is probably something to do with the disc as I did rest it for a long time and it still comes back (it would also explain the tingling)

So I have been reading a lot about this kind of issues and now I know that hamstrings is an important factor in this whole situation. Obviously stopped squatting and deadlifting but I am scared and have to admit that I have avoided leg training as well.

So far, as a way of trying to deal with this injury, I used to do:

• hyperextensions and other stretches where you hyperextend your back
  • bridges
  • press-up back extensions
  • toe touches (used to them pretty much every workout, read in several places that they’re actually bad for this type of injury)