Lower Back Deadlift Stress

I’m fairly new to deadlifting in terms of incorporating into my program.

I’m using a light weight and proper form (keeping the bar close to the legs at all times, using the abs and not rounding the back, looking up and keeping a proper posture), but I’ve been getting a lot of stress in the lower back (that small area right above the butt).

I wouldn’t call it pain, rather a lot of muscular tension during the exercise and a fair bit of stress/tension in that area during the days after.

I know it’s hard to tell without me actually posting a video, but does anyone have any suggestions or feedback. Does this happen to anyone else?

Thanks in advance

SG

Well, first, let me say that I’ve had two lower back injuries in the past year, and despite fromerly pulling 5 plates a side, I will no longer come close. My more serious injury involved torqueing my sacrum, and let me say that I still occassionally find some pain in the area you just described. I have now relegated my deads to last in my training, when I am pretty darn fatiqued already. I utilize mostly dumbells, stress the mid range of motion - really trying for continuous tension, and move pretty slowly (as opposed to my old explosive/PL style of doing 'em.
I do find some ‘good’ soreness the next day in my erectors, and it doesn’t seem to aggravate my existing situation.

S

Don’t worry about it too much, I get that too. If you’re pulling a lot of weight off of the ground, you should probably feel it in your lower back over the next few days.