T Nation

Lower Ab Pouch

My girlfriend of 49 recently joined a gym. She is 5’4" and 130 lbs but after 4 children she has a pouch on her lower abs that is protruding. After working out a month she has lost only 3 lbs and still has the gut. I would tend to believe that she needs to increase her cardio and reduce her calories / carbs in order to help shrink this area. She’e determined to lose this pouch even if it requires surgery. Any help is appreciated.

Post some training and diet DETAILS

Hey!

Glad to hear your lady is getting serious about training. Well I’m no expert but I would imagine 4 kids would do a number on anybody’s abs. It’s only been a month, right? Give it some time. Also give some info on what kind of training and diet she’s using so your T-peers can pool their knowledge. This site is a great resource.

Good luck!

It could be stretched skin, or possible even a hernia from the babies (her stomach would still pooch out a bit, not just flab probably)

Skin might not decrease no matter what, give the diet/working out some time & a great effort. It could fix it, it could help alot to the point where dangerous surgery is not neccessary, if after no results occur see a really good surgeon if its what she really wants. Be aware of the risks though.

Please give us more info about diet & working out routine.