Low Rep Back Training

I’ve been realy happy about a change I made to my routine. I switched my back training to low reps, 3-5, but mostly 3, and I could not be more happy. I feel the tension where it should be, like in the lats with DB rows and close grip Pulldowns. Each session I’m pulling more weight while feeling it almost all in the lats. My girlfriend noticed some growth as well.

It also seems to work with biceps training, as I can curl much more weight with low reps, even more so than I would have taught, possibly due to my lousy muscular endurance.

It may also be due to the fact that I started lifting like CT recommends, trying to accelerate as fast as possible on the concentric and trying to apply the principles of the perfect rep as much as possible.

I tried it with chest and shoulder training but due to a nagging injury in my left shoulder, I cannot go under 5 reps for bench press and military press, it just feels very uneasy and painful.

Anyway I just wanted to share, does someone else had a breakthrough like that in the past?

[quote]gogotheviking wrote:
I’ve been realy happy about a change I made to my routine. I switched my back training to low reps, 3-5, but mostly 3, and I could not be more happy. I feel the tension where it should be, like in the lats with DB rows and close grip Pulldowns. Each session I’m pulling more weight while feeling it almost all in the lats. My girlfriend noticed some growth as well.

It also seems to work with biceps training, as I can curl much more weight with low reps, even more so than I would have taught, possibly due to my lousy muscular endurance.

It may also be due to the fact that I started lifting like CT recommends, trying to accelerate as fast as possible on the concentric and trying to apply the principles of the perfect rep as much as possible.