T Nation

Low on Cash, Good PWO Shake?

I am a college student low on funds right now and I am looking for a good PWO alternative to Surge. Let me know what you guys think of this homemade PWO shake.

1 cup grape juice
1 cup lowfat blueberry yogurt
2 scoops of vanilla whey (44 g of protein)
1 scoop of micronized creatine
1 tbsp of glutamine
2 ice cubes for texture

I got this recipe out of Men's Health a couple years ago. Is this decent?

All of that will cost you more per serving than a good PWO shake. Its probably $1.50 just for the yogurt and grape juice. Unless you get them for free at the dining hall.

Plus, grape juice is fructose, which is a slower sugar than what's recommended (dextrose, maltodextrin). And, somebody correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't sucrose even faster than fructose?

I think you are lacking in quick-acting carbs.

Why not try Gatorade + protein powder? Buy the Gatorade in powdered form, it's much cheaper than the liquid.

I'm an avid reader of Coach Defranco's website. He has his athletes use Cytogainer after their workouts. For $31 I can get 18 servings, about $1.77. Surge has 10 servings for $21, about $2.10 per serving. I guess the difference is negligible.

Poloquin has one here somewhere. It is grapejuice+some type of maltodextrin beverage+protien. There is also a formula for carb gms and protien per your body comp.

I'm pretty sure grape juice is dextrose, hence the reason why so many people use it as a high-GI base for creatine.

I bought a 50lb bag of maltodextrin. I also use ON whey. It comes out to about 1.00/PW shake. Thats 48 grams of protein and 100 grams of carbs per 1.00 shake.

Drecappa, a few years ago when I was low on fundage and had to come up with economical solutions for supplement needs, I used to use a whey isolate powder mixed with Grape Juice.