Low Deadlift?

I am 6’3", 205 lbs. I deadlift 145 lbs(2x15).

I started lifting 6 months ago, however I’ve only done Romandian Deadlifts for 4 weeks(HGM program phase).

I am doing the Deadlifts in the New Rules of Lifting book.

The Break-In program involves 2x15 supersets with 60 sec rest.

I am dedicated to this program, however I question my low deadlift.

Why are you doing 2x15 with deadlift? While I believe that you should do that every couple weeks for muscle endurance, you’ll make better gains using high weight, low reps (10x3, perhaps?).

I agree the DL is a MUCH better move for the 1-5 range and then every now and again go nutty and pull some reps

Phill

[quote]csuson wrote:
Why are you doing 2x15 with deadlift? While I believe that you should do that every couple weeks for muscle endurance, you’ll make better gains using high weight, low reps (10x3, perhaps?). [/quote]

That’s that NROL Break-In program recommends.

Ask Alwyn Cosgrove, I guess.

How much effort does it take you to lift that weight for 15 reps? On a scale from 1-10 with 1=no effort, and 10=“teeth-shattering-because-of-straining”?

AD

Really… you’re saying you can’t lift 155 pounds 15 times? Or have you just not tried anything more than 145?

[quote]AlphaDragon wrote:
How much effort does it take you to lift that weight for 15 reps? On a scale from 1-10 with 1=no effort, and 10=“teeth-shattering-because-of-straining”?

AD[/quote]

It takes 5 effort for the first 5 reps, then it takes 7 effort for the next 5 reps, then 8-9 effort for the final 5 reps.

[quote]SpadeK wrote:
AlphaDragon wrote:

AD

It takes 5 effort for the first 5 reps, then it takes 7 effort for the next 5 reps, then 8-9 effort for the final 5 reps.
[/quote]

Okay…

well, have you tried to add some weight to it to see if you can do more (maybe 10lbs extra)? It won’t kill you (or ruin the program) to experiment a little. :wink:

AD

Well, you gotta start somewhere.

He’s talking about RDLs, not conventional DLs.