T Nation

Low-Carb Milk

Is this a good alternative to ordinary milk? I mean with double the protein it seems like if you drank a gallon of this stuff a day you’d be set. Has anyone tried it? What do you think of it?

Tastes better than regular milk. More protein. Works for the Anabolic Diet. Mixes well with Low-Carb Grow!. What’s not to love? … the price I guess. Shop around though, the prices range from $2.75 to $3.25 in my area. That can add up if you go through as much as I do.

I have experience with the Hood brand, Atkins approved stuff. I’m no expert, but low carb does not equal no carb, so there might still be problems with lactose intolerant people. That said, it seems like they tend to be diluted milk protein with extra caseinate and whey, which sounds good.

I’m assuming from the order of ingredients that there is more casein than whey in it, so that for off days, it might be fine to just drink a gallon of this (this is not going to be the postworkout drink of champs). The cost is $5/100g of protein, and that is slightly higher than that of things like Grow! or most other protein supps. However, it does taste a decent amount like milk, and can be used for cooking.

I personally like it a lot because of its usefulness. Even if you use it with cereal (and it does taste good), you are cutting out at least the milk carbs, which is nice.
TS

[quote]ConorM wrote:
Is this a good alternative to ordinary milk? I mean with double the protein it seems like if you drank a gallon of this stuff a day you’d be set. Has anyone tried it? What do you think of it?[/quote]

Im having it in my oatmeal as I type this. The stuff is great.

The low carb hood milk has 12g /cup of protein. That is 50% more than regular milk. In the fat free variety 50/70 calories are from protein. From a protein standpoint it has more.

beef

[quote]beefcakemdphd wrote:
The low carb hood milk has 12g /cup of protein.[/quote]