T Nation

Low Box Squat question, How low and how wide?

I’m doing a modified version of Dave Tate’s 9 week Westside intro program. Today is Max Effort Squat day: Low Box Squats.

How much lower than parallel should I go, and how wide of a stance should I take for this max effort exercise?

In Dave’s 8 keys article, he mentions close stance low box squats (3" below parallel). How close is close stance? In Matt Hawkins westside routine template, he mentions Box Squats (wide stance) as a max-effort exercise, done anywhere from 6" above to 6" below parallel.

I’m concerned because I want to do wide stance (since I figure I can do more weight this way), but I don’t want to risk injuring my hip/groin by going too low. I’m pretty new to box squatting, since I’ve always been a medium-stance back squatter to parallel or rock bottom. Would appreciate any help.

By the way, I lift raw, with no squat briefs, suit, or belt. I did 315 on the wide-stance Good Mornings last week. In the past, I have full squatted 315+ (never maxed), and maxed on parallel back squats at 365. I have no idea how much I will be able to box squat, but I figure with no support gear, and 300-400+ pounds, it might be a little dangerous on the hip/groin with a wide stance.