Low Bar Squatting Experience at Gym

(Gym owner says not to squat SS style)

I recently got interested in lifting weights and have started getting interested in powerlifting, I am a complete novice and have very little experience besides a few squats in commercial gyms with no instruction or coaching.

I finally got myself down to the bodybuilding/Powerlifting gym in town ran by an IFBB bodybuilder and powerlifter who took up powerlifting a few years ago. He squats over 500 lbs, benches over 300lbs and deadlifts 600lbs.

He seems a cracking guy and really welcoming and friendly and the atmosphere at the gym was really good, no joining fees, very moderate price and lots of big and very strong people train there. I would much prefer to train here than at some globo gym.

I was left a bit confused though at the advice he gave me which was at complete opposites to the advice in the book I have been using to learn to squat, starting strength by Mark Rippetoe.

It was my first time squatting for a full workout with someone watching today and I did a squat as I had seen in starting strength, I looked low down and fixed my eyes on a spot, I had a lean forward not vertical trunk yet kept a straight back, knees tracking out and forward in line with toes, rising using hip drive.

He told me I was lifting the weight with my lower back and neglecting the legs, which would become the weakest link in my squat, he told me to look slightly up and keep my torso vertical, completely opposite advice that Rippetoe gives in starting strength.

I followed his advice on the last set of squats of the three and it felt much harder and after 5 reps my quads and glutes were throbbing.

Basically it looked much more like an olympic squat but I was suing the Rippetoe hand and bar placement on the lower back.