Low Bar Squat, Information Needed

Hello everyone!
Since i started lifting about three years ago I have been high bar squatting. I have been interested in learning how to low bar squat for some time now, I would like to compete next year. I have had a hard time finding good material on the subject, Youtube is hard to sift through and so on.

I am unaware of an actual power lifting gym in my area so any video or articles on the matter would be greatly appreciated! If anyone is aware of power lifting gym in the area(Kingston, Ontario, Canada) to get coached, then please point in me in the direction!

What are your concerns or questions about low bar squatting specifically? Just start by trying a lower bar position and feeling it out for yourself, its not a huge stretch switching from high bar if you have passable form.

My experience when I went from exclusively high bar to using low bar for a meet last year:

It’s going to feel uncomfortable for a couple weeks.

Set the bar on your back tight and when you lift off make sure the weight is set on your back and not your wrists.

“Fall forward” from your hips a little more than you would with the high bar. Feet apart with a little more width.

If your wrists really bother you, use wraps for all sets, but gradually start to take the wraps out of warm ups and lighter sets and reserve them for heavier weights.

If you hit it right the movement should still feel natural, though the wrists and bar placement may take time to get used to. Just because you switch to low bar doesn’t mean you have to do a Stan Efferding super wide glute/ham squat (google if you don’t know).

[quote]Sutebun wrote:
My experience when I went from exclusively high bar to using low bar for a meet last year:

It’s going to feel uncomfortable for a couple weeks.

Set the bar on your back tight and when you lift off make sure the weight is set on your back and not your wrists.