Low Bar Squat Critique

This is my first time low bar squatting so I just want to make sure I’m doing it right. I took a brake from olympic squatting and haven’t squatted consistently for a few weeks, because I was just trying to give my lower back a rest. I feel like low bar squats might be what I need to get me some higher squat numbers.

By “low bar” I assume you mean lower on your back, more across the middle of the traps as opposed to on top of the traps - I recently made this change and my squat numbers have sky rocketed. Due to surgery on my right achilles tendon, I have drastically reduced flexibility in that calf so when I go down for a sqaut, my heal likes to pull off the ground on my right leg. I found that moving the bar down on my back really alleviated that problem, almost all together, and has kept me flat footed all the way down.

This may sound stupid, but with the bar lower down, I feel much more “solid” all around and more well balanced, - the increased balance and stability makes me fell almost like i’m doing a leg press and my numbers have shot up drastically because of it.

that forward lean looks excessive even to me, but a side video would give the full story.

[quote]HERC410 wrote:
that forward lean looks excessive even to me, but a side video would give the full story.[/quote]

I think this is pretty accurate. It looks to me like your back is almost parallel to the ground at the bottom of the lift. However, because you’re used to high bar, I think this may be a natural first reaction in order to offset the shift in bar position. There is more forward lean in low bar but not as much as you appear to have.

Herc: Why aren’t you lifting at Jerry’s meet on Saturday?