low-back quasi pain

Hi everyone; it seems it’s time for another lurker to come out. I have been reading t-mag for nearly 2 years now and have made gains I never thought possible. The training advice is awesome and the diet info is dead on. I am a senior Exercise Student at MTSU (Middle Tennessee State University) and have used tons of info on this site to help research my debates with professors. Just thought I’d say thanks for all the help!

Anyway, I do have a low back issue to deal with. About a year ago I hurt my back by squatting with bad form; all seems to have healed, though, except that when I was deadlifting yesterday there was a tightness in the same spot and in the groin area.

I took it in stride and finished the lifting session and today I am pretty sore in those two areas. The pain is not unbearable and may just be soreness, but I was wondering if anyone else has this issue with deads and if I should be concerned or if it is just my weak low back that needs to strengthening. Thanks a million!

Hi there Baes. Did you get a diagnosis for your pain a year ago? Was it disc-related, muscle strain, or ligament-related? Because your approach to the injury should vary depending on what is actually injured.

Most back injuries (80%) are muscle-related. In this case, a muscle fiber, or sometimes several fibers, ruptures. These heal rapidly. Just do the standard anti-inflammatory things (RICE), don’t rest it too long, and stretch. I would definitely get ART to help the healing process here, too.

Discs and ligaments are another story.

Also, rarely is it the case that low-back pain is caused by weak low-back muscles, or even weak core muscles. Most likely there is an imbalance
in the endurance of spinal stablizers.