T Nation

Low Back Pain with Good Form on Deadlifts

This is a video of my deadlift formHey guys. Ive been lifting for a little over 2 years but just recently have been getting into powerlifting. I have always done squats and bench but i have always struggled with the deadlift. I have been trying for a while to get my form down… everyone i talk to or have check out my form seems to say that i have good form and i really am just getting frustrated with the low back pain. It seems like one day i can pull 315 with no belt with zero low back pain but this morning i couldnt even pull 225 without getting a sharp pain in my low back. On thursday i deadlifted in the afternoon around 4:00 pm and this morning when i could barely pull 225 was at 5 am. I usually lift in the morning… could it be maybe i was too stiff? Had 2 days off over the weekend? Any input would be greatly appreciated because i am getting frustrated. I know i have the overall strength to pull heavy and i would like to eventually compete

Pretty sure that if you’re suffering from what sounds like chronic lower back pain and you’re 99% sure that it’s coming from the deadlifts, you don’t have ‘good form’. Good form would be what works for you, in this case it would be keeping you injury free and lifting heavy ass weights.

That being said, I think its possible you might have a little lower lumbar rounding when you deadlift, at least that’s what I suspect from looking at the video. What is you daily life like? Do you sit around alot and do you have a history of back pain/injuries before you started lifting/etc? Answering this questions might give us a rough idea what you’re going through? If worse comes to worse, you might have to seek a professional’s help.