Low Back Issues with Hip Thrust

Hey guys, strained my spinal erectors recently, but it’s recovering and getting better with PT help. anyways, i have a bit of an APT issue (cause of back strain), but the root cause is mainly postural allignment and glute weakness.

however, I can’t do barbell bridges with weight because my back hurts so much when I load it. and if i don’t attempt to work my glutes, i get horrible back spasms that leave me lying in bed wanting to destroy everything in sight

dunno which section this really belongs in, but since I’m a beginner, might as well try here?

Stop doing hip thrusts! besides you look teh ghey doing them!

first make sure you warm-up properly. stretch out your hips.

second, don’t do loaded hip thrusts. try glute bridges (hold at the top), progress to single-leg bridges as well. make sure you are feeling glutes and not your hamstrings. i would also add in some side-lying clams, some x-band walks for high reps, and some reverse hyper (if no machine, but a swiss ball on a bench and do them).

[quote]PB Andy wrote:
first make sure you warm-up properly. stretch out your hips.

second, don’t do loaded hip thrusts. try glute bridges (hold at the top), progress to single-leg bridges as well. make sure you are feeling glutes and not your hamstrings. i would also add in some side-lying clams, some x-band walks for high reps, and some reverse hyper (if no machine, but a swiss ball on a bench and do them).[/quote]

great advice, thanks, been focusing on bodyweight movements for now, with so many injuries(MCL on both knees, impingement and winging on right shoulder) I’m probably going to spend the next 2 months just doing pushups pullups and dragonflags rocky style to get my body running again

yes to what andy said.

also…

try and pass the glute firing test.