Love Handles No More

I’ve been doing the Rippotoes Starting Strength for a few months now (the first couple months were me simply figuring out how to lift correctly, work on form, etc, etc). But now I’m stalling with Bench, Military, and Rows. I feel like I’m simply not getting anywhere (and it’s downright discouraging).

I just don’t know what to do with my diet. I follow Berardi’s rules (suggested in another thread), but I’m usually hovering around 1800 calories (without carbs, I’m having a hard time consuming calories).

My meals throughout the day are usually lean meat with veggies and fruit. For the first time in my life – I’m full ALL THE TIME.

My ultimate goal is to look good (lean). So I still have love handles (which I’ve had my whole life) and I WANT TO GET RID OF THEM.

I need some direction that my diet should take. I feel like it’s holding back my lifting progression…which is holding back my physique progression…but I really, really don’t want to get fat first. It has always been so hard for me to lose weight (fat) that I’m kind of terrified to go back to that.

Help!

I feel you with not wanting to go back to that. I went from 230 to 170 and was feeling great but I couldnt lift for shit. I just started eating right and a lot again and gained back a lot of muscle, a little bit of fat but no biggie.

What helps it to take a picture of yourself once or twice a week. I would do that on the morning I weighed myself each week just to kind of guage a different perspective other than the scale. Use calipers also they’ll let you know if your adding a lot of fat.

The pictures is a good idea. I’ll do that. Are there any sample diets out there that anyone knows of (just an overview)? I simply cannot eat a lot without the use of carbs. Veggies, meat, and low sugar dairy…it’s just tough to meet all the requirements.

And I did’t want to jack my calories up to 3000 to find that all it does is make me fat.

[quote]luthar28 wrote: