Love Handles, No Matter How Fit

Hello all. I am an ex multi sport athlete now in college. I have always been in good shape because of athletics and training, but have moved more into the fitness world since finishing high school. No matter how fit I have been, I have had love handles my entire life. I have tried to lose them and its just not happening and honestly I’m desperate. I just want to have a midsection that I am not ashamed of but there is so much information out there that I am a it overwhelmed.

“Eat low carbs, carbs are your friend, workout extremely intense with high reps, workout heavy with low volume, this or that will eat away at muscle, use lactic acid training”. With all this I just do not know where to start and it is driving me nuts. I have been lifting pretty consistently for a few months and have some slight muscle growth that I am pleased with, but I just want the love handles gone. I have no problem being completely dedicated to a program and a diet, the problem is what program and what diet? I am so close to where I want to be, but I cannot seem to get past this hump. I’ll include some pictures to show where I am.

Note that I lack abs because I have neglected them while lifting (a poor choice). I would love to get some input from someone who has done this successfully and maybe include some before and after pics if possible. I just need advice on the best diet (I understand that its not one size fits all) and the best program to retain my muscle, but tone and carve my midsection. Any and all advice is appreciated.

I apologise if I come off as a negative dick but…

No offence dude, but your not in ‘good shape’ - maybe better than the average Joe but not in relation to some of the guys on T-Nation,. I know an 18 year old who’s been training for 12 months who looks better. ‘Neglected abs’ - they’re covered by fat mate. You could have the best in the world and you wouldn’t see then at your current bf.

16% + bf at best, stop kidding yourself