Love for Squats Comes and Goes

I need some ideals on why my love deep squats comes and goes. I started lifting very young and squatted routinely 2-3x a week I did eventually dial back to once a week, but with a home gym its my stable for legs, but im to the point that i have no desire to perform and I’m not sure if a nutrition issue since my volume is low and sleep is not an issue

Do you compete?

EDIT: Now that this thread is no longer in the powerlifting section, my comment makes less sense.

[quote]BigEasy24 wrote:
im to the point that i have no desire to perform[/quote]
If you don’t want to squat, don’t squat. Fine, whatever. Unless you compete in powerlifting, like Pwnisher was saying, there’s nobody who has to squat. It’s a good and useful exercise, but there are options.

Just be aware that you shouldn’t want to avoid squats simply because they’re hard. At least try to find a better reason than “It’s too tough, so I don’t wanna.” If you were doing them a bunch, you might’ve just burned out on them mentally (or physically) and you might find them coming back into rotation soon enough.

You said you train at home, so I’d probably rely on single-leg stuff (lunge and step-up variations) and deadlift variations, and adjust the volume and intensity based on goals.

I can understand the love/hate relationship with squats though. With any lift, really. I’ve had it with all 3 of the PL lifts, most recently deadlift, which used to be my favorite. I think having a love/hate relationship with heavy lifting in general is pretty healthy, and has a lot to do with success in the sport.

In some ways, I dread squat day. It’s hard, always is. But on the other hand, it’s a day I never skip. I hate how much my elbows hurt when I first put the unloaded bar on my back, but as I add plates, throw on my belt, and start to sweat, I always remember what keeps me coming back.