T Nation

Lost on Where to Go

I’m new to the gym. Been going for around 6 months and started with the body part splits. I started at 257 pounds and I am 6’2 at 27 years old. I’m now down to 215 thanks to changing from splits to a full body routine. I’m fairly weak. 125pound bench. A 185lb squat. Same for deadlift and an overhead press of roughly 100lbs. My question is since I can’t do a push-up or pull-up what do I need to focus on? I’m willing to do whatever it takes to build a strong lean body and with my new job I have the time to put into all aspects of diet and training 100%. Any tips would be greatly appreciated. I’ll upload current pics so people can see as well. Thanks

By the way. My body composition has changed drastically and I’m very happy with my progress. I just need to know where to go from here.

You can’t really go wrong with 5/3/1 and basically all of Jim Wendler’s writing/insights. I would recommend checking out his books and articles, it would serve you well.

I will do that. Based on my information and pictures do I need to really worry about anything other than strength? I.E losing more weight? I think the fat and my boobs are so noticeable because there is so little muscle there.

For sure try the 5x3x1 routine
When you follow it, do exactly what it says
Don’t try adjust it and if you’re lifting and it feels light when you first start, don’t be worried
Believe me that when you start adding weight and the reps change, you’ll notice the changes
There are plenty of articles here on T-nation that give you a perfect outline, BBB or hardgainers are ideal

Don’t be scared of weights, it is the easiest way to lose fat and when coupled with a healthy diet, your body in its current state will change drastically if you do the 531 cycles to the tee

What are your stats man?
Have you figured out your macros?
Find any decent calorie calculator on the net and type in your stats