T Nation

Lost Muscle Potential?

Hi, I’m not sure if this is the right subforum to post on, and if its not i apologize. Anyways:

I started lifting about 2 years ago weighing as little as 45 kg (100 pounds) at 180 cm (5’10) its unbeliaveable little, and anorexic. It was due to several reasons: I smoked marihuana and cigarettes alot which supressed my appetite more that normal. i generally didnt have a strong appetite without the pot either though. My tastebuds are not as sensitive as normal, and food doesnt taste as good to me. (No idea why this is).

One day I looked at a video of myself, and was disgusted at how skinny and fragile i looked. So I decided to change.

I stopped the pot, i stopped smoking cigarettes, forced myself to eat, and started working out.

Currently at 75 kg (165 lbs). No idea how much of that is FAT, but I know its alot. Still thats 65 lbs in 2 years.

The thing is, during those 2 years, I have not worked out consistently more then 2 months, with several weeks of break (life, and poor priorities/choices) I have not focused on progressive overload, and my diet has been ****. I have basically just eaten everything, junk and all. Just to get those calories in.

WHAT my question is, does my body still have greater potential allthough I have been working out for 2 years and gained 65 lbs? If i were to eat properly, and workout more intelligently, could I still take advantage of the «newbie gains» ?

Posted pic so you can see my progress

If it isnt obvious, both pics on the left is me at 45 kg(100lbs) and both at the right is 75 kg (165lbs)

There really is no such thing as newb gains.

Sadly no. But if you do all your training naked you could tap into some sweet «nudie gains».

First thing’s first - WELL DONE with recognizing your need to change your lifestyle AND having the courage and discipline to change. In two years, you’ve gone from literally starving to looking healthy and like someone who’s into lifting.