Lost & Confused

Whats up guys. Ive been working out for a couple years now, mostly serious, but came to the realization i was doing everything wrong, from nutrition to sets to repititions.

I have a friend that told me i have sensitive insulin levels which might be the problem why im not able to show improvements over periods of time.

I use to eat carbs all over the place morning, 3 hrs later, again, an again etc. My friend told me to eat carbs only in the morning and post workout, which made more sense. An he also gave me a new routine:

NEW ROUTINE
monday
deadlifts 4,4,8,10
pullups 4 sets till failure
rows 5,5,8,10
core
tuesday
flat bench 4,4,8,10
1 arm db press 4,4,8,10
core
wednesday
close grip pulldown 5,5,8,10
wide grip rows 5,5,8,10
3 sets of BB curls diff variations
core
thursday
squat 4,4,8,10
Db lateeral raises 4x12
incline Db press 5,5,8,10
core

He said specifically these workouts are for intensity + giving you anough energy after to do cardio in the evening or w/e you want. Before this routine i did ALOT more exercises, which he (my friend) said leads to overtraining.

So again my question is, is this an appropriate workout routine? my goals are to shed fat (got diet in check) and bulk up when ive lost BF. Im just really confused right now about carbs, to rep ranges to how many sets for which goals etc. Any critiques are welcome. thanks alot

The split seems fairly standard, not many exercises each day though. Also, i never understood the point in doing 1 arm db presses, just do both at the same time.

no trap work?? barely any shoulder work?? well state your goals then we can decide what is a good workout plan/diet for you. btw a good way to set-up your workouts is to use the weider principles

As of right now, i am trying to shed BF, guessing im at 18% right now, mostly in chest an waist but not THAT bad. I would like to bulk up but my friend stated that im insulin sensitive meaning i should lose the fat first then bulk up.