Losing my PLing Virginity

I’ve been training for two years now without any real focus on strength until lately. It turns out I really like it. So what better motivation to get stronger then to enter a PLing competition.

I don’t have any specific dates yet, but I’m thinking mid 2012 if I can find one. I’m currently trying to contact a local PLing team to see if I can get in with the group.

I have two kids under the age of three, so time is precious for me. I do have a home gym built with most of the required equipment. Cage, rack, oly set, power blocks, bands, home made platform…

I’ll be looking for all the wisdom I can get in here as I have a lot to learn. I’m working with a modified WS4SB template and am enjoying it. I had a pretty significant back strain on Sunday that I’m trying to bounce back from and so far it’s healing really fast.

I have a couple of 1RM tested lately:

Bench: 255lbs
Sumo DL: 365lbs
Conv. DL: 365lbs
Old Squat 1RM: 275lbs

Those numbers are my baseline and I hope to go up from there. My weight this morning was 169lbs.

Thanks for reading and I hope to learn a lot here!

So I’m getting ready to start lifting again. I’m coming off yet another low back muscle strain. This one was the straw that broke the camels back (no pun intended) and I’m going to attempt to fix things.

No deadlifting and no heavy squats for a while. Instead of heavy lower body days I will take on the joy of BORING core work.

Time to swallow my pride and do what needs to be done.

Work is busy, kids are busy, life is nuts. Back is still jacked

Here is a summary of events:

• Had a high tech scan of my back done. Lit up three problem areas that I already knew about, but confirmation is nice.

• Had an x-ray of my neck and back. All is fine. I have a slight bend in my spine and need more curve in my neck. Nothing major.