Losing my PLing Virginity

I’ve been training for two years now without any real focus on strength until lately. It turns out I really like it. So what better motivation to get stronger then to enter a PLing competition.

I don’t have any specific dates yet, but I’m thinking mid 2012 if I can find one. I’m currently trying to contact a local PLing team to see if I can get in with the group.

I have two kids under the age of three, so time is precious for me. I do have a home gym built with most of the required equipment. Cage, rack, oly set, power blocks, bands, home made platform…

I’ll be looking for all the wisdom I can get in here as I have a lot to learn. I’m working with a modified WS4SB template and am enjoying it. I had a pretty significant back strain on Sunday that I’m trying to bounce back from and so far it’s healing really fast.

I have a couple of 1RM tested lately:

Bench: 255lbs
Sumo DL: 365lbs
Conv. DL: 365lbs
Old Squat 1RM: 275lbs

Those numbers are my baseline and I hope to go up from there. My weight this morning was 169lbs.

Thanks for reading and I hope to learn a lot here!

Getting back to basics when I can load my back again:

Last night I just wanted to move a light load, so here it is:

Close Grip Bench:
20x45, 15x95, 10x135, 10x135, 10x135, 10x135

Pull Ups:
10, 10, 10, 10

Good to hear. WS4SB will be a good template to help you gain some weight. Just keep eating and going heavy. A good training group will add lbs to your total quickly. One on one coaching can easily add 40lbs to a squat or deadlift in a few weeks if you have never been given good instruction.

A nice thing about powerlifting is you can make good gains for a long time with only 3 or 4 workouts a week, so time commitment is small compared to most other sports.

Good luck!

[quote]McDouche wrote: