Losing Insurance. Private Labs or GP (Medicaid)?

So, I’m losing my current insurance that had great coverage for labs, and I had a fabulous doctor who would practically order any labs I wanted and is willing to prescribe high doses of TRT (not even a “TRT” doctor).

I’m a grad student and my school doesn’t offer discounted insurance, so I’m going to be on Medicaid for the next 6+ months until I graduate and can find employment.

I’m currently in the process of “dialing in” on TRT and will need to get labs at some point to check test, shbg, estradiol, CBC, lipids, PSA, and probably thyroid as well.

Should I use a website to order private labs? They’re pretty expensive, but I’m scared that if I go to a standard GP, he will see the very high test levels and be alarmed (even though my other doc agreed to prescribe me these doses (200mg/wk) because - long story short - I developed lasting sexual dysfunction (similar to all symptoms of PFS) from psychiatric drug use/SSRIs that has been extremely treatment-resistant.

Is it even worth going to a typical GP? If I tell them I’m on TRT, will they be willing to run such tests? It seems every time I’ve gone to one in the past (before TRT), getting them to run anything - even a standard hormonal panel - was like pulling teeth.

Thanks for any advice

Depending on your state you may be able to order tests directly and there are discount sites out there. I can usually get FT & TT for between $50 & $75 and sometimes under $50 if there is a sale. Try directlabs.com or ultalabtests.com to order Quest tests at discount.

But lets consider that you are dialing in…that is really about feeling and symptom resolution. When you find that sweet spot stay there and you can get the tests done eventually when you have insurance.

1 Like