T Nation

Losing Hypertrophy Potential?

I base my workouts SOLELY on free weights. While machines do not have a serious impact on strength, am i losing much as far as hypertrophy goes?

[quote]guaglione wrote:
I base my workouts SOLELY on free weights. While machines do not have a serious impact on strength, am i losing much as far as hypertrophy goes?[/quote]

Anyone who walks into a gym and says anything like, “I avoid ALL of insert noun here” has missed some important factors in their gym education. Everything has a place.

If you don’t know what that place is, you need to either learn or avoid it until you do.

Free weights are what most serious BEGINNERS should focus on. I am not a beginner. I don’t avoid all machines. I have grown a lot…especially my shoulders which I now train (the lateral head) mostly on machines.

[quote]Professor X wrote:
guaglione wrote:
I base my workouts SOLELY on free weights. While machines do not have a serious impact on strength, am i losing much as far as hypertrophy goes?

Anyone who walks into a gym and says anything like, “I avoid ALL of insert noun here” has missed some important factors in their gym education. Everything has a place.

If you don’t know what that place is, you need to either learn or avoid it until you do.

Free weights are what most serious BEGINNERS should focus on. I am not a beginner. I don’t avoid all machines. I have grown a lot…especially my shoulders which I now train (the lateral head) mostly on machines. [/quote]

Funny, because i was reading one of your posts earlier where you wrote something similar, relating to isolation exercises.

By the way, an important reason i train only with free weights is that i train home, where i have all the equipment required for ALL the necessary free weight exercises. I have a (free)gym membership as well, but i go rarely, mostly for cardio.