Losing Fat Over 50

I’ve lost about 30 pounds, from the mid 290s down to about 265 or so. Those were easy. But now…wow! My body is rebelling: I feel absolutely terrible when doing any sort of aerobic, and have cut down to 45 minutes at a session. HRX helped A LOT, but these last 25 pounds are going to be hell (goal is 240). Tips, help, ideas?

You didn’t tell us very much about yourself or your program/fitness level.
All I can say is:
Have you seen any fat cyclists?
I started training for a 50 mi ride w/Scouts. Fat left fast, clothes got loose. Get on any bike that fits and won’t break down. Pace yourself and drink as much water as possible. You will need it.

Side benifit: Running is hard on heavy people. The bike develops more of the leg w/less stress on your old, slow to heal body. Make sure you get a bike that fits you. Less knee problems, more comfort and more miles. JMHO

Ricisan

Bump your cals up to maintenance level for a while. Until you cope ok with the cardio again. Then start cycling your cal intake. One day in surplus, two days in deficit, etc.

[quote]Headhunter wrote:
I’ve lost about 30 pounds, from the mid 290s down to about 265 or so. Those were easy. But now…wow! My body is rebelling: I feel absolutely terrible when doing any sort of aerobic, and have cut down to 45 minutes at a session. HRX helped A LOT, but these last 25 pounds are going to be hell (goal is 240). Tips, help, ideas?[/quote]

As someone who went from 375 to 185, I have some thoughts. Let’s talk about general principals first and address some specifics later.

Don’t forget that as you lose, your maintenance number of calories drops with your weight. I ran some numbers at the daily needs calculator found at nutritiondata.com and came up with something like a difference of 160 calories a day by going from 290 to 265. It may not sound like much, but I know for myself, 200 calories can be the difference between losing or not losing.