T Nation

Lose Weight But Gain Muscle?

I'll admit, I'm a total newb to the lifting scene.  I just started working out and my goal is to lose some weight and gain some muscle.  I'm 5'10" and weight around 178 pounds.  So I have to take in at least 1g of protein per pound. 

Food is of course the biggest contributor to the protein intake but I’ve heard alot of people use whey protein as well along with food. Well, whey has around 800+ calories per serving. How am I supposed to lose weight but gain muscle this way? I’d be taking in more than 2000 calories per day…
Help me out here plz

What kind of whey have you been looking at?

Metabolic Drive in the shop here has 100kcal per serving.

[quote]Lifter87 wrote:
I’ll admit, I’m a total newb to the lifting scene. I just started working out and my goal is to lose some weight and gain some muscle. I’m 5’10" and weight around 178 pounds. So I have to take in at least 1g of protein per pound.

Food is of course the biggest contributor to the protein intake but I’ve heard alot of people use whey protein as well along with food. Well, whey has around 800+ calories per serving. How am I supposed to lose weight but gain muscle this way? I’d be taking in more than 2000 calories per day…
Help me out here plz[/quote]

Welcome. At the earliest stages of lifting it’s certainly possible to gain muscle and drop fat at the same time. Merely having the new stimulus will cause hypertrophy even in the absence of overeating.

W/ regard to whey, and nutrition in general, you need to learn some basics. Protein has 4 calories per gram. So does carbohydrate. Fat has 9 calories per gram. A straight whey protein powder derives the huge majority of its calories from protein. So, 800 calories from whey protein would be 200 grams of protein. This is WAY more than a single serving’s worth. Even the heaviest weight-gainers out there will usually have fewer than 800 calories per serving. I have no idea where you got that data.