Lose Fat First or Build Muscle?

I started lifting because of a traumatic event that left me feeling depressed. I was in the worst rut of my life. The lower T-levels I had sent me on a downward spiral. It was hard to feel motivated to do anything. I was sedentary for a long period, and I developed a gut and some bitch tits. The rest of my body is lean and if you were to see me clothed you wouldn’t notice me being over weight.

The question I have is should I first work on losing weight, or should I focus on gaining muscle mass. I notice that when T-Nation does their physic clinic they will often times have the clients lose fat first, and then focus on increasing muscle mass.

I have learned from this site that a lot of belly fat can be from increased cortisol, and increased breast fat can be from low testosterone levels. Would I be better off trying to lift heavy to spike my T-levels, or would I be better off doing circuit training to get lean first?

There is no reason why you can’t do both at the same time. The workouts that build muscle will certainly burn calories.

Well aside from increased T levels, lifting heavy should promote fat loss also. Challenging your body with weight training after being sedentary for a long time should cause a decrease in body fat in your case as long as you keep your diet in check.

Increased Heavy Lifting= More Muscle Mass= More calories burned just because the muscle is far more metabolically active

This site is full of useful information as long as you read and utilize what some of the brilliant authors have concocted.

Get some muscle first. That’ll make it easier for you to lose weight if you feel the need to do so later on.

Waterbury’s 10/10 program allows you to both.

[quote]49ersFan81 wrote:
Waterbury’s 10/10 program allows you to both. [/quote]

LOL.

[quote]Brooklyyyn wrote: