Looking to Start Powerlifting Now

Hey guys the names Jawad, this is my first post. I started lifting in August '16 so I’m still new to the game but that doesn’t mean that I don’t like to lift some heavy weight haha…

Btw the gym owner said I have a bad bench and a good deadlift because I have really long arms, does that really make any difference?

70-85% of your max for triples and fives most of the time. Heavy singles(not max) sometimes.

It’s really that simple.

My normal routine is based on fives and singles. Looks like this:
Week 1 squat single / bench 5 / pull 5
Week 2 squat 5 / bench single / pull 5
Week 3 squat 5 / bench 5 / pull single
Week 4 all 5’s

Just work up to something heavy.

For example: Most weeks I work the squat raw at 400x5 because I can do the last rep paused at the bottom pretty much any week. If 400 feels really light on the first rep, I’ll rack it for a single and go 420x5. Some weeks it might go 430 or 440x5. Just depends on the session. But my base is always 400x5 at the minimum. If 400x5 felt good, I might go ahead and go 420x5. I don’t deviate reps though. If it’s fives that week, I do fives. The only time I’ll change if its a week of singles and I’m feeling beat up, I’ll stick with a light five and try for the single the following week.

So having said all that, these numbers are based on a 510 squat. My current max is 530 with a definite 550+ in me but I never really max out in the gym. All my numbers need to be readjusted to the 530. I generally try and shoot for 75-80%ish as a base for my 5’s.

This is a little more of an advanced routine from the standpoint of knowing my body, how the weight moves each session, technique, etc. If you need an actual program, you cannot beat 531. Its a great routine. One of the guys I train with uses it and he goes 540-365-585 at 220lbs raw.

1 Like