T Nation

Looking to Start a Fat Loss Program

I’m finishing up my current 5/3/1 cycle this week and I’m looking to change to a program geared around fat loss. I feel like I have an understanding of the basics, but I just need some help creating a program.

I know that I need one heavy lifting session for retaining the muscle mass I have and a few types of metabolic training along each week. I’ve created a basic outline of a lifting program. This lifting program isn’t set in stone though; it’s open to change based upon recommendations.

1. Heavy lifting day
    I basically want to do a total body workout hitting as many muscle groups as possible. I figured a lower body lift, a press, and a pull should do the trick.

Trapbar deadlift
Military press
Lat pull-down

1. Complex day
    I’ve got some experience with complexes and I can make some decent ones on my own, so I figured I’d either do the bear or a homebrewed one.

It would probably be some combination of hang clean, hang snatch, bent-over row, military press, push press, front squat, back squat, high pull, and good morning. I’m just not sure if I should do one complex or two on the days I’m in the gym doing them.

The bear/other complex

1. Density day
    I don’t really have any experience with density training, so I’m basing it on Staley’s recommendations, along with a few small changes to reflect the fact that I’m doing density training only once a week.

-4-6x2-3 hang cleans, increasing weight until hitting ~85% of 1RM
10 singles in 15 minutes, increase weight if can hit over 12 singles
-Back squat
Leg curl
-Cable row
Skull crusher
-Dumbbell bench press
EZ bar curl

1. Cardio
    Here’s where I’m at a bit of a loss. First, I’ll likely be using an elliptical machine after I’m done in the weight room for my post workout cardio. Should I do steady state or HIIT then?