Looking for Training Guidance

I started training in a martial art last year (bjj) at a local MMA gym. I have not been in months due to work and injuries and have been really slow picking the techniques up.

I started because I am an MMA fan and wanted to get involved in martial arts since I was a kid but never had any near me to go to. I also want to learn how to protect myself. I took a lot of shit as a kid and had a few beatings. I figured jiu jitsu would be a good choice.
Well a few months ago a second cousin who also does jiujitsu, in another gym and is a purple belt was in a street fight and got absolutely smashed by a local guy with no training whatsoever.

He just could not take this lad down apparently and he was punched numerous times, had his nose broke and eyes were pretty bruised up. This has made me question if I should start training in another martial art as well. I recently had my motorbike stolen and found out who did it, a local thug off my estate, only problem is he is miles bigger than me and I really don’t see it ending well for me.

I am really sick of being in an area full of bullies and thugs and I want to be able to stand up for myself but also I have always fancied training, been a boxing, k1, MMA and grappling fan and want to see how god I can get and try and compete as an amatuer in a number of stand alone martial arts and maybe MMA.

I am five foot 9 and pretty chubby with slight build, small hands etc. I am out of shape at the moment, probably could do 5 full pullups, 25 pressups. I am pretty shockingly nonexplosive and not athletic. I imagine to an outsider at first glance, I look a bit like kiff from futurama.

I have my MMA gym that offers stand up classes, BJJ and wrestling classes. I have a really close boxing gym that is quite expensive at around 25 for a private session or 3.50 for a group class but one a bit further away that offers 12 a private session and seems pretty legit.