T Nation

Looking for an Answer!

Not sure if this is the best place for this but I am looking for some advice.

I have been training using the following template for the last three months since July 1 to be specific.

Cardio -- Cardio is the first thing I do when I get to the gym, it started with about 5 minutes of running and now I can do 20 - 30 minutes with out much effort and I still have energy left.

Weights/Strength -- Strength training equates to a 4 day on 3 day off split that consists of one major muscle movement (Deadlift, Bench, Military or Squat) usually using either a 5,3,1 type template or just the old fashion 5 x 5 template. This is mainly due to time crunch with my job where in the past I would get into the first part of my workout and be called away. So I simplified it with a more direct approach hit the initial exercise hard and be done with it. Time permitting I add in some antagonist work and then move to conditioning.

Conditioning -- This is where I get to do my energy system work, or conditioning work. This usually consists of mobility drills, or kettelbell work, extra stretching. This might look like : 100 reps of Kettlebell swings done in sets of 10 - 20 with 10 - 20 situps and pushups between rounds of swings. I try to stay in a window of time for each conditioning segment but it is only as good as the time I have available to me. This could also be a sprinting session, or an interval run session.

What has happened though is I have gone from 229 pounds at 32 % fat (scale) to 197 at about 25% fat (scale). What I am wondering is if I want to keep making the losses ( I would like to be down around 180) before I change any of my goals at this point, is there a way to tweak this , or am I doing too much, or should I add more volume to the week. Of the three days off I have 2 days available to train but always feel as I might burn out if I do this...

Any sugesstiongs, or any criticism or any advice will be well received.