T Nation

Looking for a New Strength Routine - 20 Years Old 195lbs

Greetings everyone,

I’ve been lurking T-Nation for nearly a year now, but I finally decided to register and make my first post. My first language is french, so I apologize in advance if some of my grammar is off.

I’m 20 years old, 6’0, 195-196lbs in the morning at about 12% body fat. I started lifting at around 16, but I was a newb and only did upperbody, etc. I started deadlifting a bit after I turned 19, but only started squatting + benching in September 09, so I guess you can say I’m still a newb.

I lift at home and decided to start doing madcow 5x5, I religiously followed the program and I’m now on week 11, looking for my next routine.

I usually post on another site for this, but I find this website much more profesionnal and knowledgeable and I wouldn’t want to be heading the wrong way after madcow.

My current lifts are:

225 x 6 Back Squat (ATG)
215 x 3 / 230 x 1 Bench
375 x 5 / 420 x 1 Deadlift
125 x 5 Military Press
200 x 5 Bent Over Rows
3 x 80lbs + BW Chin ups

My shoulders are pretty weak because I’ve never directly trained them before a couple months ago, same for my legs. I’m always trying to have a solid form, I bought some heeled shoes to with my squats too because I was bending forward to keep my balance.

Here’s a pic taken a couple weeks ago: http://img521.imageshack.us/img521/4350/tnation.jpg

I know I’m still pretty small to most guys here, but I’m always trying to improve. Here’s my caloric comsumption since I started Madcow: (I don’t have the macros though)

Week Average Calories / Day
Week 1 3771
Week 2 3750
Week 3 3492
Week 4 3635
Week 5 3585
Week 6 3830
Week 7 3789
Week 8 3991
Week 9 3340
Week 10 4076
Week 11 3517
Week 12 4110

I went from around 180lbs to 195-196 in those 3.5 months.