T Nation

Looking for a 5 Day Split Routine

Have been having the hardest time putting together a training programme for building up some real solid mass (Im 18, 5ft 10 and 131lbs,) but still hoping to see only small increments in bodyfat levels (I’m sitting on 5%.) I want to do a 5 day split so that I can really blast individual muscle groups separately.

I know all the compound exercises which should be included, but don’t know what isolation ones I should include and which I should forget about. If anybody has any free time, could they show me what they think a great 5-day training split would be, keeping my goals in mind? Attached a picture of my current “status”- I really need to get some muscle mass on!!

Take a shot at any of these articles. I have a few of the ones I like in my favorites.

Quattro Dynamo is worth mentioning.

You completely do NOT need a 5 day split.

You need a lot of educating.

You are really really at point 0 - absolute beginner. THAT IS GOOD. Only way is up from here!

Get the book Practical Programming and read it and then you will know something.

All beginners should read it. Actually everyone should.

This site has ten million articles on it all good and some, apparently “conflicting” with others.

Rather than get lost in that it would be better to get a base understanding.

If you are set on doing a split try my routine entitled The Shut Up Program. 4 hard days are all you need, since you have a hard time gaining weight you don’t want to do too much extra work. I agree with the above recommendation of reading Practical Programming, Starting Strength (same author) is another good one to check out to make sure you are performing the key exercises correctly. Good luck with your workouts,
Tim

http://www.T-Nation.com/findArticle.do?article=07-029-training

[quote]Tim Henriques wrote: