T Nation

Long Time Lifter Stuck

I have been lifting for 16 years. I've done pretty well for myself, i'm in elite in nearly all categories of the major lifts. However, i'm stuck at 265x5x5 on bench.

I do 6 weeks of strength (5 reps) then do 6 weeks of bodybuilding (8-10 reps).

My split:
Legs
Chest
Back
Day off
Arms
Shoulders
Day off
Repeat

Sample Strength workout: (12 sets)
5x5 flat barbell
5x5 incline barbell
5x2sets decline barbell

Sample Bodybuilding workout: (15 sets)
4x8 flat barbell bench
4x8 flat dumbbell bench
4x10 cable flies
3x10 decline barbell

I've been stuck at 265x5x5 for a few months, getting frustrated.

A few questions:
1. Am I doing too many sets of strength? I typically do 5x5 but will do it on multiple lifts (example incline and flat barbell) then throw in a set or two of another strength exercise after that, totaling 12 sets of 5 reps per bodypart per day during my strength training phase. I only train chest once a week, per my split above.

1. Any other advice anyone could give me would be greatly appreciated.

Here are my current lifts if you're interested, note that I cannot do squats/deadlifts anymore due to spondylolisthesis. Did front squats for awhile, but ultimately had to listen to my body and stop.

Bodyweight: 165
Bench: 265x5x5 (I haven't maxed in a long time)
Weighted widegrip Pullup: BW + 70lbsx5x5 (all the way down, all the way up, scapular pullup)
Weighted Dip: BW + 180lbsx5x5
Standing No bounce barbell press:165x5x5
Front Squat: 245x5x5 (all the way down)

All I take is protein and occasionally creatine when I hit a wall.

Hey Man,

During my strength phase a few months ago I tried out cluster sets. Defranco added them to some off his programming. It allows good form for your all your reps and cuts out grinding. Thibs always goes on how grinding reps can have a detrimental effect on your CNS and gains.

I found my strength for each lift I used them on increased. I used the progression of;

80%
85%
90%