T Nation

Long Legs and Leaning Forward on Squats

Hey T-nationers, I'm a 17 year old beginner who's interested on powerlifting. I'm following Stronglifts 5x5 and squatting 3x a week. My problem is leaning forward while squatting and "good morninging" the weight up. I think it's due to my relatively long legs and short torso, so how do long limbed powerlifters remedy this?

Thanks in advance

I struggled with that for a long time and it can still be an issue when the weight gets heavy. The best advice I was given was by Maraudermeat who advised me to drive my elbows under the bar so they aren't back behind the bar like a chicken wing. That helped me stay more upright and minimized the issue with my hips rising too fast. You should also work on a lot of core strength. I find when it gets heavy, I lean forward more causing my hips to rise faster. The stronger your core, the easier it is to stay upright.

does it help to widen up your stance a bit?

alexus I always squat with a wide stance (wider than shoulder width by a couple of inches) and the problem persists.

Ouroboro: thanks for your advice, but I'm confused as to how it contradicts with Dan Green's training, who is a long legged powerlifter. He explains that the lower back takes over the lift because it's stronger than the legs (short back, long legs), so he preaches that front squats solved that problem for him and strengthened his legs.

On the other hand, westside powerlifters train Good Mornings alot to emphasize not falling forward, which is congruent to your advice (GM train PC and core). Both methods worked while relying on contradictory logic. I'm confused.

Oly Shoes will help alot as well... Also another Dan Green remedy

Front squats with 500+ like Dan uses definitely strengthens the legs but also strengthens the core in a major way. Nothing contradictory, strengthening both the legs and the core should help your form.

Videos might help, too.