Log Pressing

Two years ago I couldn’t OHP 65lbs which was really embarrassing becuase I was about 325lbs at the time. I worked my way through a lifetime of bad and weak shoulders and now press pain free.

Recently I started training at a gym that has sleds, stones, more diferent bars that the French Quarter in New Orleans, and logs. I hit a max of 150 with the log last week but this week I could not get it to rack right, get under it and press right. My shoulder mobility is still not great, another work in progress, but part of the reason I like the log is the slightly shorter ROM takes some mobility out of the equation.

So, my question is, is there any exercise recommendations for racking the log, or asistance for the log c&p in general?

I’ll address mobility first, then some other practical things to do during the actual event itself.

A side to pressing mobility that is often overlooked is your hip mobility and lat/shoulder tie in mobility. If you have a posterior pelvic tilt, chances are (highly) that your upper back is suffering from some kind of kyphosis. Intuitive/dynamic stretching within your hips, adductors and glutes can help your body in alignment with the press. As for the lats, it plays a huge role in your ability to put weight over your head. The lats are like the supervisor of your overhead mobility. If your shoulders have a good range of motion, but you’ve got an impinged tie in to the shoulder via lat, you won’t be achieving much of anything. Try rolling and/or giving your lat some good time to open up before you press. It’s made a big difference in my pressing, but also things like front squats.

In regard to cues and other practical stuff during the press, I’ll just give a brief explanation of the entire lift itself.