Log Clean: Help Me Please (With Video)

So I have been struggling with my log clean since I have access to a log and my press is surpassing my clean significantly. No matter how often I watch Alan Thrall’s tutorial, I just can’t seem to get it right.
For the video, please watch the last set as I tried hard to brace and think it worked a little bit better.

Any help is greatly appreciated, thanks in advance.

Main issues I see are:

• you need to tuck the log right into you (touch your stomach) when you lap it, it’s on your knees
  • your elbows drop as soon as you begin to stand up causing you to almost curl the log
  • you’re not pushing your elbows under the log aggressively when your extending up
  • you need to move much faster

Drop the weight. Focus on exploding the log up.

Thanks man, good tips!
I really have problems with the “lap-position”. How deep would you advice to squat down?

I’m no expert but my clean exceeds my press. I go even lower than i do in a front squat, so low that the log is pressed against my chest at the bottom. So the log is almost already in place. As i ascend i forcefully extend my hips and i shoot my elbows around and lock it like i would a front squat.

I only do this when i clean once and press away though. When i cleaned every rep i just power clean it.

But I’ve got a long way to go so take my advice with a grain of salt lol.

1 Like

Wherever you are most comfortable. BTW, you’ll clean and press a fatter log up much easier if you get past the curling issue (which may be party the thin log)