T Nation

Living In Singapore?

Anyone familiar/live in Singapore? I may be moving there to work for the U.S. Navy…any help/info. is appreciated.

Thanks.

I’m studying in Singapore currently. Ain’t a local and have only been around 3 and a half years. But it’s a pretty small place so doesn’t take long to get familiar with it.

What kind of info would you like?

Any you got…basically I’m thinking about moving there with my wife and 3 kids…

Thanks.

I’ve never been there, but I know they speak predominately English and Mandarin Chinese. For such a small nation, it’s incredibly rich too.

The whole country is basically a giant city.

I had a long (8-hour) layover in their airport, and the public bathroom smelt like roses. They also had free iMac’s for anyone to use and a massage parlor, amongst other things. That’s about all I can offer.

[quote]sen say wrote:
Any you got…basically I’m thinking about moving there with my wife and 3 kids…

Thanks.[/quote]

Hmm well where should I begin. Firstly, that there bed in your profile pic might get cropped down to something a bit smaller because living space is a highly prized thing around here. But I guess the Navy will be taking care of accommodation for you so I don’t need to go into that, right?

Communication shouldn’t be a problem, though it might take a while to get accustomed to ‘singlish’. It will be tougher for the kids if they join a local school cause Singaporean kids use complex singlish with a lot more quirks and words derived from chinese dialects. They tend to switch between singlish and chinese a lot when talking amongst themselves. Also the people here are generally quite reserved. I don’t know any kids but from what I’ve seen they are pretty shy with foreigners. So your children might have a bit of a hard time settling in.