Little To No Experience - Looking For Advice

Hi T Nation,

I joined this site at the recommendation of a friend. I have very little lifting/work out experience. I’ve had weight lifting classes in high school and college but I never took them seriously and just joked around. I now have a lot of free time and have decided to make a commitment to being more healthy.

I am 23 years old, 260 lbs, 5’ 7". I have been obese pretty much all my life since 5th grade. I understand progress will take a lengthy amount of time and I understand dieting is a huge part as well.

I recently joined a gym 2 days ago and I plan to go 5-6 times a week as it is very easily accessible and close to where I live. What advice do you have for a super beginner like me? I don’t know where to start, how much cardio to do, what routines to follow, machines or free weights etc.

Can someone recommend me a good program to follow? Think of me as a fresh mind looking for all the information I can get. I’ve been browsing this forum a bit today but really just looking at all the threads in the beginners forum but every post seems to have a bit more experience than me and already know what they want to do.

If there are any other information I need to let you know about me for you to help, feel free to ask away. Thanks in advance!

Hey buddy, congratulations on your new path. My advice would be to:

1. Learn how to lift weights. Master the big lifts such as squats, bench press, deadlift, barbell rows, overhead presses, dips, and pull-ups.

2. I would research and read Starting Strength by Mark Rippetoe and perhaps later on 5/3/1 by Jim Wendler. Both are great, basic, barebones training books that will offer a lifetime of great knowledge.